Rotherham Council - Logo


Rotherham Council

Call 01709 382121

Rotherham Council is the local authority for the Rotherham area of South Yorkshire, one of four divisions of the county.  The council is based in Riverside House and the main contact number is 01709 382121.


Rotherham Council offers a wide range of services for residents including housing, transport and leisure facilities.  As well as various contact numbers, they have the main website where you can find information about many of these things and also register or pay for some services.

The Transport and Streets Department handles everything to do with the public transport network and the streets of Rotherham.  It is where you can find out about local roadworks and road improvement schemes as well as locating the council car parks. You can report a problem with a road or street light or apply for a dropped curb if you want to add a driveway.  You can even pay for a parking ticket if you have received one.

The council can help you with a range of benefits received locally and from the government.  Via the website you can apply for free school meals or a Blue Badge as well as appeal a decision made about your case.  You can get help and advice about money problems and find out about new benefits or changes to existing ones. There is even help with finding apprenticeship vacancies, training courses and help to start your own business.

The Children and Families Department is the one overseeing the education of kids around Rotherham.  Here you can find out about schools, pre-schools, special schools and young people’s centres. You can find out term time dates and get access to children’s services.  There are also adult social care facilities to help you when you need it.

 Rotherham Council - Map


Rotherham is divided into 21 wards, each with three councillors meaning the council has a total of 63 councillors involved with it.  The wards are:

  1. Anston and Woodsetts Ward
  2. Boston Castle Ward
  3. Brinsworth and Catcliffe Ward
  4. Dinnington Ward
  5. Hellaby Ward
  6. Holderness Ward
  7. Hoober Ward
  8. Keppel Ward
  9. Maltby Ward
  10. Rawmarsh Ward
  11. Rother Vale Ward
  12. Rotherham East Ward
  13. Rotherham West Ward
  14. Silverwood Ward
  15. Sitwell Ward
  16. Swinton Ward
  17. Valley Ward
  18. Wales Ward
  19. Wath Ward
  20. Wickersley Ward
  21. Wingfield Ward

Contact the council

The main options for contacting the council is to ring the main switchboard on 01709 382121 or by using the website which features a range of contact options and online forms at

There are also some special numbers to use for different departments including:

  • Emergency housing repairs (outside normal hours) – 01709 336009
  • Council tax – 01709 336007
  • Adult social services – 01709 822330
  • Children’s social care – 01709 336080

As well as the main point of contact at Riverside House, the council also operates three neighbourhood hubs in different libraries.  These are located in Aston Library, Dinnington Library and Rawmarsh library and are open six days a week from 9am. Services are offered alongside normal library services.