Liverpool City Council - Logo

Liverpool City Council

Call 0151 233 3000

Liverpool City Council covers the city of Liverpool in Merseyside and some of the surrounding area.  It is based in Liverpool Town Hall and the main switchboard number is 0151 233 3000.


The city council offers a good range of online services to cut down the need to contact them directly as well as contact numbers if you prefer to use the phone.  Residents and visitors can use these services to find out about a wide range of information relating to the city.

Council tax is something we all have to pay and if you want to know how much your bill is going to be, you can contact the council.  You can also find out information about discounts and exemptions and if these apply to you. If you want to change how you pay your bill, for instance going onto Direct Debit, you can do this by getting in touch.  There is also an online portal to manage your account directly.

Both schools and adult learning is handled through the council.  If you want to register your child for a first school or a change of school, you can do this here.  You can also check school term dates, although some schools can set their own. Find out about early years and childcare to get this arranged and also about adult learning opportunities.

If you are looking for a job and would like to work for the council, they have a current vacancies area on the website.  You can also find out about eligibility to work, equal opportunities and work experience with Liverpool City Council. They also offer help to get into work including the Universal Jobmatch, Connexions and more.

Liverpool City - MapWards

The city has been separated into 30 wards since the 2004 council elections, each with one or more councillors representing them.  These are:

  1. Allerton & Hunts Cross
  2. Anfield
  3. Belle Vale
  4. Central
  5. Childwall
  6. Church
  7. Clubmoor
  8. County
  9. Cressington
  10. Croxteth
  11. Everton
  12. Fazakerley
  13. Greenbank
  14. Kensington & Fairfield
  15. Kirkdale
  16. Knotty Ash
  17. Mossley Hill
  18. Norris Green
  19. Old Swan
  20. Picton
  21. Princes Park
  22. Riverside
  23. Speke-Garston
  24. St Michaels
  25. Tuebrook & Stoneycroft
  26. Warbreck
  27. Wavertree
  28. West Derby
  29. Woolton
  30. Yew Tree

Contact the council

Liverpool City Council is based in the Town Hall on Dale Street in the city.  The main switchboard number is 0151 233 3000. In addition, there is an extensive website offering a range of services that save you needing to call the council for many things which can be found at

As well as the main council offices, there are a number of ‘one-stop shops’ around the city that offer a range of services and mean you can talk to someone face to face.  These around found in Broadway, City Centre, Dingle, Garston, Kirkdale, Old Swan, Speke and Wavertree. To find the exact address and opening hours for these you can visit the dedicated web page to get this information.