Hillingdon Council

Call 01895 250 111

Hillingdon is one of the 32 areas of Greater London and the council that looks after it is called the Hillingdon London Borough Council.  It came into force in 1963 when the councils were reorganised from four previous authorities – Uxbridge Borough Council, Hayes and Harlington Urban District Council, Ruislip-Northwood Urban District Council and Yiewsley and West Drayton Urban District Council.

For residents in the area, the council is the place to go for a wide range of services.  These vary from having your rubbish collected to report a pothole in your street, from school admissions to social care matters.  They also collect council tax and business rates.

There are 22 wards in the council area:

  1. Barnhill
  2. Botwell
  3. Brunel
  4. Cavendish
  5. Charville
  6. Eastcote & East Ruislip
  7. Harefield
  8. Heathrow Village
  9. Hillingdon
  10. Ickenham
  11. Manor
  12. Northwood
  13. Northwood Hills
  14. Pinkwell
  15. South Ruislip
  16. Townfield
  17. Uxbridge
  18. Uxbridge South
  19. West Drayton
  20. West Ruislip
  21. Yeading
  22. Yiewsley

Contacting the council

You can use the council website for many services and applications as well as to make rent and council tax payments.  You can find it at https://www.hillingdon.gov.uk.  These services are available 24 hours a day.

If you want to ring the council, the main switchboard number is 01895 250 111.  There is also a number for the Hayes One Stop Shop on 01895 556 004 or a text relay service on 01895 250 111.  For out of hours emergencies you can ring 01895 250 111.

Different council departments also have their own contact numbers, so you can get straight through to the person you need.  For anti-social behaviour problems, noise complaints or racial harassment, you can ring freephone 0800 694 0240. For council tax and housing benefits, the number is 0300 123 1384.

If you have noticed a problem around your home such as street cleaning or lighting or other environmental issues, call 01895 556000.  And for the 24 fraud hotline, call 0800 389 8313.

For housing services, the number is 01895 556666 while the school admissions team can be reached on 01895 556644.