City of Westminster Council

Call 020 7641 6000

The City of Westminster is one of the Inner London Boroughs which also has its own city status and includes the ancient City of London.  It was created in its current form in 1965 and stretches from the River Thames to the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea.

The city council has the same powers and functions as a London borough council and is the billing authority to collect Council Tax and business rates.  It also houses the local planning department and is responsible for environmental health, waste collection and housing. It oversees the local education authority as well as social services.  Some of the services overlap with neighbouring boroughs.

The borough is divided into 20 wards, each with three councillors:

  1. Abbey Road
  2. Bayswater
  3. Bryanston & Dorset Square
  4. Church Street
  5. Churchill
  6. Harrow Road
  7. Hyde Park
  8. Knightsbridge and Belgravia
  9. Lancaster Gate
  10. Little Venice
  11. Maida Vale
  12. Marylebone High Street
  13. Queens Park
  14. Regents Park
  15. St James’s
  16. Tachbrook
  17. Vincent Square
  18. Warwick
  19. West End
  20. Westbourne

Contacting the council

The main office for the City of Westminster council is Westminster City Hall, 64 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6QP.  They also have a website where you can find out about and use a variety of different services including paying bills –  Their main contact number is 020 7641 6000.

If you want to phone the council to get help, advice or information, there are a range of different departments that you can contact to get in touch with the right people.  There is also information online for all of these departments.

For adult services, call 020 7641 2500 including for disabled and elderly or to let them know about a vulnerable adult.  For benefits queries, contact the freephone number 0800 072 0042. Births deaths and marriages can be registered or queried by calling 020 7641 7500.

Other departments include:

  • Children’s services – 020 7641 4000
  • Council tax – 0343 178 2743
  • Electoral services – 020 7641 7500
  • Housing services – 020 7641 1000
  • Libraries – 020 7641 6200
  • Recycling and rubbish – 020 7641 2000

If you need council services for business rather than personal reasons, you can call 020 7641 7000 including queries around licensing, commercial waste and special events.