Bedford Borough Council - Logo

Bedford Borough Council

Call 01234 267422

Bedford Borough Council is the local authority for Bedford and the surrounding areas of Bedfordshire county.  The main council office is in Borough Hall, Cauldwell Street, Bedford and the main contact number is 01234 267422.

Council services

The council offer a wide range of services to the Bedford residents and can be accessed over the phone, through the website and also at their offices.

If you have queries about your council tax, you can contact the council.  Currently this can be paid online, by direct debit or over the telephone by ringing the customer service centre.  You can also post a cheque to the head office above. If you need to apply for housing in one of the Registered Providers of Social Housing that works with the council, you can also speak to Bedford Borough Council or visit the website for the partners directly at

The council oversees the various schools in the area and they are the ones who can help with school admissions appeals.  If you have tried to get your child into a certain school but failed, you can appeal the decision with the council. You can also speak to them about fostering or adopting children as well as their Children and Young People’s Plan.

If you have missed a bin collection or need to report fly tipping to the council, you can ring them on the number above.  You can also use an online reporting form to notify them that your bin hasn’t been emptied or if you think there is an abandoned car near your home.  You can also the number to follow up on planning decisions and make an appeal if a decision goes against you for a project you wanted to undertake.


Bedford Borough Council - MapWards

The council is divided into 13 wards inside the Bedford-Kempston urban area.  Some of the wards are also civil parishes:

  • Brickhill
  • Castle
  • Cauldwell
  • De Parys
  • Goldington
  • Harpur
  • Kempston Central & East
  • Kempston North
  • Kempston South
  • Kempston West
  • Kingsbrook
  • Newnham
  • Putnoe
  • Queens Park

There are an addition number of civil parishes that are outside the urban area: Biddenham & Bromham, Clapham, Eastcotts, Elstow, Great Barford, Harrold, Kempston Rural, Oakley, Riseley, Sharnbrook, Wilshamstead, Wootton and Wyboston.

Contact the council

Bedford Borough Council has two main locations to which residents can visit to speak to staff.  The main office is Borough Hall, Cauldwell Street in Bedford and the direct telephone number is 01234 267422.  It is open from 8am until 5:30 Mon-Thurs and until 5pm on Fridays.

The Customer Service Centre is at 2 Horne lane, Bedford and can be reached on 01234 267 422.  The centre is open from 8:45am until 5pm Monday to Thursday and until 4:45pm on Fridays, closed weekends and bank holidays.  Calls to both are charged at local rates and you can also send email queries to the dedicated customer services email address at [email protected]

The council also has an extensive list of contact numbers for the different departments including email addresses for relevant people.  You can access the full list at