Barnet Council

Call 020 8359 2000

The Barnet London Borough Council is the local authority that covers a range of services for the people and businesses of Barnet.  It is one of the 32 Greater London councils and was created in 1963 when it replaced five other authorities – Barnet Urban District Council, East Barnet Urban District Council, Friern Barnet Urban District Council, Finchley Borough Council and Hendon Borough Council.

The council is there to help with many day to day services such as parking permits, paying your council tax, getting planning permission for your home and to provide leisure services such as libraries and sports centres.  It also operates local schools and adult care as well as offering housing.

There are 21 wards in Barnet:

  1. Brunswick Park
  2. Burnt Oak
  3. Childs Hill
  4. Colindale
  5. Coppetts
  6. East Barnet
  7. East Finchley
  8. Edgware
  9. Finchley Church End
  10. Garden Suburb
  11. Golders Green
  12. Hale
  13. Hendon
  14. High Barnet
  15. Mill Hill
  16. Oakleigh
  17. Totteridge
  18. Underhill
  19. West Finchley
  20. West Hendon
  21. Woodhouse

Contacting the council

The main website for Barnet council is and this can be used to access a wide range of services as well as make payments.  You can set up an online account that lets you make payments, ask for information and request services.

The central contact line for Barnet council is 020 8359 2000.  This line is open from 9 am until 5:15 pm Mon-Thurs and until 5 pm on Fridays.  There is also an online contact form on the website where you can submit details of your query and get a response.  There is also a general out of hours emergency number on 020 8359 2000.

There are also other departments that have their own direct contact details.  For environmental health including pests, noise complaints and anti-social behaviour you can call either 020 8359 7995 or 020 8359 2000 out of working hours.

For street services such as rubbish collection or potholes, call 020 8359 4600 while the parking enquiries team is reached on 020 8359 7446 or you can pay a penalty notice online.  The main number for housing benefit and council tax support is 0208 359 2111.